Sapote syrup and tomato sauce

4 Apr

20130406-041627.jpg

Woo! It was a hot day in the kitchen and now my legs and feet are tired from cooking. I want one of those rubber cooking mats they have in restaurants to cushion our concrete floor.

Anyway, let’s start with the sapote fruit. What’s that, you ask? It’s a funny green fruit, about the size of a softball. You pick it hard and then let it sit until it holds a dent when you touch it.

It looks like dark dark chocolate inside, so at first I thought I should make some sort of raw pie. Then pancakes creeped into my head, and once there, it’s nearly impossible to get them out, so I made it into syrup. I just added sugar and boiled for a while.

20130406-040303.jpg

It gives a great maple syrup taste, which is great since I don’t buy the high fructose corn syrup and the real stuff is understandably expensive here in Mexico.

Then I made tomato sauce!
1. Score a cross into the peels.

20130406-040718.jpg
2. Drop into boiling water.

20130406-040801.jpg
3. When you see the peels starting to peel away, remove to a bowl of cold water.

20130406-040922.jpg
4. Meanwhile, chop and mince carrots, celery, and onion, and sautée.

20130406-041051.jpg
5. Peel the skins, and put them in with your sautéing veggies.

20130406-041229.jpg
6. Now just let it cook down. I mashed a bit to get the tomatoes to break up more. Stir. Add a teaspoon of sugar and some pepper.

Now comes the tedious part. If anyone has an easier way, I’d love to hear it!
7. Strain the sauce to remove the seeds and fiber.

20130406-041451.jpg
8. Now cook again until its the thickness you like! Oh, and add salt at this stage, too.

Yay homemade tomato sauce! We ended up with three full yogurt containers. Not bad. These kind of traditional staples are some of my favorite things to make. It’s like magic: voila, so that’s how they do it!l

There’s a huge organic farm down here that exports to Whole Foods and sells their unworthy produce dirt cheap. Since our tomatoes aren’t quite ready, I buy and resell theirs. And all the tomatoes I bought are heirlooms! They’re beautiful! I’m thinking I have to take advantage and stock up while they are in season. Next, I’d like to dehydrate some.

2 Responses to “Sapote syrup and tomato sauce”

  1. Jackie April 7, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    Both sound yummy! I like how you take what you have and make something great out of it!
    I have a good vegetable-tomato sauce I can give you sometime, for a little variation!

Leave a Reply

